Fighting The Suspension Of Your Occupational License
If your license is suspended following an arrest or conviction for DWI or traffic violations our law office can help you obtain a restricted license or occupational license. An occupational license can give you the freedom to drive to school, work and to perform basic day-to-day needs.
The experienced criminal law attorneys at Hildreth & Rueda, in Austin, have handled hundreds of license suspension hearings (ALR) and obtained numerous occupational licenses for our clients throughout Travis, Williamson, and Hays County.
The Procedure Regarding An Occupational Driver’s License
The basic steps needed to obtain an occupational license in Texas include:
- Pay a filing fee for the occupational driver’s license. Note: these fees vary from county to county. Our office can provide you with information about these filing fees in Travis, Williamson and Hays counties.
- Hire an experienced criminal law attorney to draft a petition and order for an occupational driver’s license and file it in the proper county court.
- Obtain an SR 22 form which shows proof that you have obtained the required high-risk auto insurance policy mandated by the state of Texas before an occupational driver’s license may be granted.
- Obtain a copy of your driving record.
- Your attorney meets with a judge to get the Occupational Drivers License order signed by the judge.
The procedure for obtaining an occupational driver’s license can be complicated and it varies per county and varies depending on the reason for your particular suspension. Our experienced criminal law attorney’s can guide you through this sometimes complex procedure and give you the freedom you need to drive to work
Contact our firm for professional and relentless representation.
More Information About A Texas Occupational Driver’s License
Additionally, it is important to understand that:
- Under Texas law, an occupational driver’s license cannot be granted for a commercial driver’s license.
- If you have a prior DWI, you may be required to install a deep lung device on your car as a condition of receiving your occupational driver’s license.
- An occupational driver’s license may be granted for a minimum of 4 hours a day to a maximum of 12 hours a day. This means the number of hours of actual driving time.
- You may use an occupational driver’s license for limited purposes. These include travel to work, school and other basis household duties.
- No more than two occupational driver’s license may be issued to any one person in a 10-year period.